Car insurance is necessary for many reasons: it can help pay for repairs and medical bills if you’re involved in an accident, protect you from a lawsuit after a crash, and, well, it’s required by law in most states, including Louisiana and Texas. Since car insurance is something that we all need, ABC Insurance Agencies wants to make your car insurance responsibilities as easy to understand as possible. Keep reading to find out if you’re driving with the legally required amount of car insurance in Louisiana or Texas, and understand the additional types of car insurance coverage designed to safeguard you from unexpected events, like weather damage, theft, or vandalism.
Louisiana and Texas Car Insurance Requirements
To begin understanding the car insurance requirements in your state, you should know that Louisiana and Texas are both considered “fault” states regarding car accidents. Fault states require the person who was found at fault for a car accident to be held financially responsible for injuries or damages that result from the crash. Therefore, the states of Louisiana and Texas require drivers to carry bodily injury liability coverage and property damage liability coverage to help you pay for damages or injuries if you cause an accident. Keep in mind that liability car insurance does not pay for your injuries or damages to your vehicle after an accident that you cause. If you want extra protection, you should consider purchasing additional car insurance coverage to protect you and your vehicle further.
Minimum Liability Limits Required for Car Insurance in Louisiana
The state of Louisiana requires drivers to carry at least $15,000 of coverage for injuries per person after a car accident and $30,000 of coverage for injuries of more than one person after a car accident. Louisiana law also requires at least $25,000 of coverage for property damage to other vehicles caused by a car accident. This is sometimes called 15/30/25 coverage.
Minimum Liability Limits Required for Car Insurance in Texas
Texas law requires drivers to carry at least $30,000 of coverage for injuries per person after a car accident, and $60,000 of coverage for injuries of more than one person after a car accident. Texas law also required at least $25,000 of coverage for property damage to other vehicles caused by a car accident. This is sometimes called 30/60/25 coverage.
What Happens if You Drive Without Minimum Limits Liability Insurance in Louisiana or Texas?
Now that you know that you need liability car insurance to drive in Louisiana or Texas legally, let’s look at what happens if you’re caught driving without it. According to the Louisiana Department of Insurance, drivers could be issued fines of $500 to $1,000 for driving without car insurance or for being involved in a car accident without having proof of insurance. The state of Louisiana also penalizes drivers for letting their car insurance lapse and could suspend your driver’s license and impound your car if you are caught driving without insurance.
The Texas Department of Insurance issues a fine of $175 to $350 as a first offense for driving without car insurance. Any additional offenses can reach up to $1,000 as well as vehicle impoundment and license suspension. Drivers who are caught without car insurance are also required to pay a $250 annual fee to the Texas Department of Public Safety to continue driving with a Texas license.
Additional Types of Car Insurance Coverage
It’s common for people to just stick to the minimum liability car insurance required in their state. But car insurance does more than keep you legal—it also helps protect you financially. Let’s learn about some other ways that car insurance can better protect you on the road.
- Collision Coverage: covers damage costs to your vehicle after a car accident or if you crash into another object
- Comprehensive Coverage: pays for damages to your car caused by something other than a collision, like damages from animals, natural disasters, and vandalism, and could also replace your vehicle if it is stolen
- Personal Injury Protection Coverage (“PIP”): All auto policies in Texas are required to included PIP coverage unless you reject it in writing. PIP is similar to medical payments coverage. It covers your and your passengers’ medical bills. It also pays for funeral expenses, lost wages, and other nonmedical costs.
- Medical Payments Coverage: pays for medical costs no matter who is at fault for an accident, and helps cover passenger injuries, medical expenses from pedestrian or bicycle injuries, and dental care costs following an accident
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage: Protects drivers who are involved in accidents with uninsured motorists as well as victims of hit-and-run accidents. All auto policies in Louisiana and Texas are required to include uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage unless you reject it in writing.
ABC helps Louisiana and Texas drivers find affordable, reliable car insurance, so they can confidently, legally cruise from A to B. If you’re looking for ways to save money on car insurance, ABC can help check this off your list. To learn more about the minimum limits of car insurance that you need in Louisiana or Texas and to get the right coverage for your personal needs, call 1-800-708-0123, click, or visit a friendly ABC agent near you today!
The information provided in this blog is designed to give helpful advice on the topic discussed. It is not intended to provide legal or any other type of advice and is not meant to be a thorough discussion of every issue that a person should consider or may encounter. ABC is not responsible or liable for the availability of links to websites or resources, or for any content, advertising, products, services or other materials on or available through these websites or resources or your reliance thereon. Any references to third party rates or products are subject to change without notice. Trademarks are property of their respective owners. ABC Insurance Agencies-members of the National General Insurance Group, Winston-Salem, NC.